Skip to main content

Meet the Team

With over 90 staff across three locations, our trained professionals in sales, service, finance and parts are amongst the most experienced in the New Zealand motoring industry. We pride ourselves on the calibre of service we provide to our customers and the relationships we have developed over 90-plus years of trading. We are available to you 7 days a week so please do not hesitate in contacting any of us on the below details - we would love to hear from you.

 

MANAGEMENT TEAM

Matthew Carman

Chief Executive Officer/Dealer Principal

Email: mcarman@capitalcitymotors.co.nz

 

Born in England, Matthew emigrated to NZ as a young boy. Spending his formative years in Wellington attending Wellington College where he pursued his early passion / obsession with Football - the round ball variety.

Failing to make a living at his passion football, Matthew followed his father into the Banking industry working for the BNZ before heading back to England and North America on an extended overseas experience.

Read more

Jared Fox

Mazda Sales Manager

Email: jfox@capitalcitymazda.co.nz 

Jared has been in the automotive industry since he left school. He started out as an apprentice mechanic and finished up as an A Grade Technician before joining the world of new car sales. Over his time in sales he has had many different roles from Retail and Fleet Sales, Vehicle Financing and Sales management. This gives him great insight into your motoring needs. Jared is passionate about the Mazda brand and wants our customers to feel the same way. He is married to his Canadian sweetheart and has four daughters and needs 2 extra bathrooms. When he is not at work he likes jogging and playing tennis.

Tony McClennon

Ford Sales Manager

Email: tmcclennon@capitalcityford.co.nz 

Originally from Yorkshire, Tony emigrated to New Zealand in 2001. He started his working life as a technician and went on to become assistant manager of a vehicle hire company. He spent eight years working with commercial fleets at Polar Motor Company in Yorkshire. This was a Ford franchise which would later be taken over by Jardine Motor Group and eventually became a partnership between Jardine and Ford UK. After first settling in Auckland, he made the move to Wellington in 2007 with his wife and young family. He can't believe how good the Wellington weather is, despite all that people say.

Gwilym Rees

Used Vehicle Sales Manager

Email: grees@capitalcityford.co.nz 

Born in London, Gwilym moved to New Zealand at a young age and grew up in Island Bay, Wellington. After leaving school he worked in the retail sector before returning to the UK for his OE. What was meant to 6 months turned into 9 years working for Skandia before working in hospitality management. Returning to New Zealand in 2006, Gwilym rejoined the retail sector before eventually joining Capital City Motors in 2014 as a sales executive. He has always had a keen interest in the motoring industry and loved cars from an early age. Outside of work, his interests include photography, playing X-Box and spending time with his family (including the dog!).

Wayne Wright

Business Manager

Email: wwright@capitalcityford.co.nz 

Wayne has worked in the banking and financial services industry for over 20 years with the last 7 of these in the role of Business Manager. He is a keen follower of the motor industry and enjoys learning about and driving the latest products from both Ford and Mazda. In his spare time Wayne enjoys the craft beer culture of Wellington, movies and mountain biking.

David Lavington

Service and Customer Relations Manager

Email: dlavington@capitalcityford.co.nz 

Joining our company in 1995 as a Qualified Automotive Engineer, David now manages our entire service operation across three locations. The best preparation for tomorrow is doing the very best you can today, his aim is to make your motoring life as easy as it can be.

Phil Noble

Parts Manager

Email: pnoble@capitalcityford.co.nz 

Originating from Titahi Bay, Phil brings to the company 34 years of parts experience. A keen Ford enthusiast, Phil is currently restoring (or ruining) a 1971 Mk3 Ford Cortina – (which his wife is keen to see finished so she can park her car back in the garage!) If he’s not in the garage you’ll find him on the sports field supporting his two teenagers or away camping.

Tony McDonald

Wellington Service Manager

Email: tmcdonald@capitalcityford.co.nz 

Tony has been with our company for more than 25 years after starting out as an apprentice and he can help with any issues you may have with your Ford or Mazda. When he's not busy spending time with his family you'll find him fishing, diving or coaching summer and winter sports.

Bruce Radford

Porirua Service Manager

Email: bradford@capitalcityford.co.nz 

Bruce is a born and bred Titahi Bay-ite, married with grown children. He began his career with our company in 1985 and is the Service Manager at our Porirua branch. He has held varied roles within the company; a qualified mechanical technician, Fleet Sales Manager, New Vehicle Sales Manager, and a Service Advisor. He advocates having fun in all areas of life and is an avid sports fan.

David Thomas

Kapiti Service Manager

Email: dthomas@capitalcityford.co.nz 

David has been serving the Kapiti region for over 15 years and manages our service department in Paraparaumu. He is committed to making sure your service experience is the best it can be. David is passionate about motor sport, particularly V8 Super Cars.

Sales Executives

Wellington New Ford

Mike Brooker

04 802 8750 / 021 195 0074

mbrooker@capitalcityford.co.nz 

  

Paul Bray

04 802 8750 / 027 444 4595

pbray@capitalcityford.co.nz

  

Tia Cooper

04 802 8750 / 027 676 8512

tcooper@capitalcityford.co.nz

  

Wellington New Mazda

Tim Surgenor

04 803 0723 / 027 2289 345

tsurgenor@capitalcitymazda.co.nz

Aaron Hoare

04 803 0702 / 027 4722 115

ahoare@capitalcitymazda.co.nz

Jason Ngaira

04 802 6270 / 021 315 913

jngaira@capitalcitymazda.co.nz

Wellington Used Cars

Rolf van Dalen

04 803 0734 / 027 229 2725

rvandalen@capitalcityford.co.nz

Cameron McKean

04 802 8750 / 027 819 0191

cmckean@capitalcityford.co.nz 

Aidan King

04 802 8750 / 027 273 8144

aking@capitalcityford.co.nz

Kapiti Sales

Robert Futter

04 297 1000 / 022 355 3833

rfutter@capitalcityford.co.nz

Brian Eden

04 297 1000 / 027 276 6651

beden@capitalcityford.co.nz

Simon Read

04 297 1000 / 022 062 4575

sread@capitalcityford.co.nz